Track'd

Dia a dia, detalles de la vida a traves de los ojos de SD!!!

The path I chose

leave a comment »

I have not any idea of how many times I’ve heard that naive question from a disoriented alter ego that sometimes appear in a after night moment. sometimes it appears on after a hard workday too, or when arquitecture  decision has made us to spend some extra time -yes! some. no more, just some!!- solving a solitaire issue that is stopping us in our way to victory. I know that the answer is worthy. I almost always can remember that part, but the complete answer sometimes vanishes between past memories and the day’s reality.

Today I was  having a conversation with my little sister Karina -love you honey : )- about her career and what she’s gonna study after high school,   she has some doubts about  -just like many of us at this age-, and was wondering which would be the correct path to seek. that brought some light to our repetitive question: “So how did you came to software architecture!?”.  in my case, I chose Computer Science, after trying Electronic engineering at the State University in Bogotá, Colombia. It wasn’t my type. And I start to get angry with anything related to the career by the second semester. after Technoppia -A lan party coffee near the university I used to visit -yes, it was where I was spent my free time. Ja! you never even imagine it muahaha- was closed. I start to realize that something was wrong after that. why a triviality like a problem with my Lan party partner and provider -sniff.. sniff…- was making me feel so angry?

Well a couple of months passed. and I got it. Computer science was my business. no the electronic engineer thing, nor another similar branch. Computer science was the thing I would like to do the rest of my life.

Then I choose to change my paths and maps to point out that new polar star: CS.

The next year (after a improvised vacations created by my university desertion) I start to work with an startup in Colombia, building software for embedded devices. what eventually -Thank you God, I love too. ok, specially to YOU : ) #1- bring me here to DR, where I found great people who help me a lot in my path with software development.

lets make the history short deleting some non-PG scenes and histories…

I found myself solving repetitive problems with the same solutions time by time, refactoring a lot of my code and documenting my work for the mental  health of my team. when I discovered I need a new approach, a new way to solve problems and bring to the table new solutions.

Taraaaa: Software architecture – two words that summarized things that I wanted to do but I can’t even explain

Well, we’re near of our 3rd year here.

And you know what, it has been great. I like the path that the Lord -yeah, I give all the credit to the Great man here- helped me to choose after these years. and although it wasn’t very clear at the start. to start and give the first step was important. So little sister, just be honest with yourself. choose the path that the Lord puts in your heart and be loyal with it and: Pray, pray, pray hehehhe -I will be with you on this.

Norman Schwartzkopf  said once:

“Courage brother, do not stumble, though thy path be dark as night: There is a star to guide the humble, trust in God, and do the right. Let the road be dark and dreary and its end far out of sight. Face it bravely, strong or weary. Trust God, and do”

I Agree.

PD: It’s 2:22 Am here Karina : O

Written by SD!!!

July 4, 2010 at 2:19 am

Leave a Reply

